## Minutes of the Meeting of

## The Municipal Bond Commission

## August 24, 2023

The West Virginia Municipal Bond Commission held its first meeting of the 2023-2024 fiscal year on August 24, 2023 at 1:30 p.m., in the Department of Revenue, Cabinet Secretary Office, Conference Room, Suite W-300, at the State Capitol, in Charleston, West Virginia.

The following members were present: The Honorable Matt Irby, State Tax Commissioner and *ex officio* Chairman; Anoop Bhasin, Deputy General Counsel, Department of Revenue, and Sara Rogers, Executive Director to the Commission. Attending via teleconference the Honorable Lisa Hopkins, General Council, Senior Deputy Commissioner of Securities, and designated representative of, the State Auditor, and *ex officio* member and the Honorable Joellen Lucas, Director of Debt Management, and designated representative of, the State Treasurer, and ex officio member.

The meeting was called by Chairman Irby pursuant to a written notice to the members dated August 9, 2023. Notice of the meeting was filed with the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023 in compliance with West Virginia Code section 6-9A-3.

The Chair called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. The meeting was structured around the agenda previously mailed to the members of the Commission.

The minutes of the last meeting of June 5, 2023 were reviewed. Ms. Hopkins moved to accept the minutes, and Ms. Lucas seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

A report of the Executive Director was presented to the members of the Commission.

The annual contract with our legal advisor, Samme Gee, Esq. of Jackson Kelly was discussed. The current contract will expire December 11, 2023. Ms. Hopkins moved for a new annual contract with Jackson Kelly on the conditions the increase was no more the \$10 per hour and the contract was approved through the Attorney General's office. Ms. Lucas seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

There being no further business before the Commission, Ms. Hopkins moved to adjourn the meeting and Ms. Lucas seconded. The motion was unanimously approved. The Chairman adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Sara Rogers Executive Director